Another note on style…

One of the reasons I can’t wait to get back to Russia is that I feel incredibly comfortable there being myself. The town my parents currently live in is quite small and the people there are somewhat poor. So when I go out, usually dressed nicely and put together, there is no end to the stares and catcalls as people here usually dress in a more relaxed, almost sloppy, way. But in Russia it’s almost the opposite, people will stare at you if you aren’t dressed nicely. If you don’t look polished and put together the chances of being disrespected or not taken seriously are higher as well. When I first observed how Russian women dressed I was a bit taken aback because it was nothing like how I had seen women dress. Even the most stylish New York girl might seem a bit dull compared to the glamour of Russian girls, in my opinion. But it was even stranger to see that almost everyone was dressed in this way and it was considered normal. No one stopped and stared at them for dressing nicely. I began to realize it was simply expected and the way it was for them, a part of their reality. Personally, dressing like this suits me as I love fashion and enjoy wearing nice clothes. So I can’t wait to get back to a place where I don’t feel uncomfortable dressing nicely.

Leave a Reply

