So much so soon…

I haven’t been teaching for an entire week yet but I’m already focusing on the future as I now feel quite settled into my new life here. I’m debating whether or not to teach another year. At first my plan was to teach for a year and then, during that year, begin to look for other opportunities. I’d like to find something more specific to my field so I can gain some experience.

Although I’ve outlined a few companies here in Russia, I’m a bit stumped when it comes to approach techniques. Despite studying Russian culture, I somehow managed to miss researching how best to approach businesses and make inquiries about opportunities. The only thing I know for sure is that a lot of business in Russia is done through contacts and so it’s super important who you know. And right now I don’t know anyone!

Then again, I’m looking for more like a job-shadowing or unpaid work, just something to get experience. Which then leads me to wonder if that exists in Russia. I don’t know that there is indeed a word for job-shadowing in Russian, the closest thing might be an apprentice, but even then that’s not exactly a direct equivalent. I’ll ask my Russian friends (aka Russian experts) about this and find out more.

On another note, the toilet in my flat is now flushing! The first few weeks it wouldn’t flush and we had to flush it by pouring water into it. Now it seems to be working so that’s a happy development and means one more thing I can cross off my “to-do” list.

Anyway, I went to the school around 1.00 so I had three hours to plan. My boss suggested planning my lessons at the school instead of at home because there are more resources there. So I went and began to plan. Things are still a bit up in the air as my schedules haven’t been finalized yet and I still don’t have all the books I need. But I’ve learned to be flexible and play by ear.

After preparing my first lesson I found out that my second class was cancelled so that gave me more time to prepare for my other classes. Then I had a class of teens and they were terrors, completely unruly and not even paying attention to anything. Needless to say I was exhausted and completely drained of energy afterward. I hope they settle down or else it’s going to be a long 9 months dealing with behavior problems and disrespectful children.

On the way home I stopped at the store and bought some cleaning supplies. My flat is in dire need of a good scrubbing down from top to bottom. Now if only I can figure out the washing machine! It’s all in Italian and I’ve tried all the buttons but I can’t get it to fill up with water. Is it a washing machine or a dryer? I don’t know! Either way it’s not working yet…

I’m also realizing that my flat now feels a bit empty with my roommate gone. I also find myself wanting to hear English from a native speaker at the oddest times. But I’ll be getting a new roommate in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

