Teaching children

The sun is out today! No more rain! Perhaps will go to the park today and soak up the sun before it gets too cold.

I was just thinking back to my class of small children. The first day it was strange teaching them because I’m not used to being in a position of authority. With my adult classes I feel a strong rapport and mutual respect between us. But with children it’s clear that I’m the adult and they should listen to me. Not to mention they speak to me using “vyi” (вы: the formal way of saying “you”). I was caught off guard by this at first but soon realized that I quite like it. Getting used to being an authority figure is good practice not only for my current job but also further down the line in my career. It’s amazing the things you learn from being a teacher.

Leave a Reply

