Feeling lucky

After work my new roommate and I ended up going out for drinks. We ended up chatting forever and I learned how she studied English at university and that we’re both interested in linguistics and language and accents and what not. We talked on and on and it was so interesting. Then her boyfriend joined us and told us all about the strictness of Russian teachers in school. I was a bit taken aback by some of the methods he mentioned and it made me realize that I’m not that strict at all compared to what Russian students are used to. So perhaps this is part of the problem I’m having with my teenage students. I’ve officially been warned that Russian students expect strict and harsh teachers and that they have come to respect such teachers. So maybe I need to be stricter. Then again, we’re a private school and so there’s a line to what teachers can and can’t do. After all, the customer is always right and it’s important to keep them happy, especially the parents when it comes to teenagers. But still, very insightful information and some food for thought. Ultimately though I feel incredibly lucky to be surrounded by such amazing, talented, intelligent and interesting people as my friends, roommate, and fellow teachers. I couldn’t have asked for anything better!

Leave a Reply

