Russian by osmosis?

Alisa has been generous enough to loan me some of her Russian films so I can improve my Russian. Today I watched Turkish Gambit (Турецкий гамбит), a Russian action film based on the book by Boris Akunin. Although there were no Russian subtitles and I didn’t understand everything, I enjoyed it immensely. I can’t wait to watch more and I thrive on being constantly surrounded by Russian. At the same time I can’t help but wonder if it will seep into my brain somehow, almost subconsciously. I’ve read about language students being hypnotized and then read lists of vocabulary words to improve their language. Plus what about all the people who have learned a language by watching television. If you surround yourself with a language enough, perhaps you brain will begin to adapt. I don’t know if it’s true, but it couldn’t hurt to try it out. If watching films and listening to music is what it takes, then I guess I’ll just have to do it! Of course I know gimmicks don’t work and it takes a lot of work to become fluent in a language. But that doesn’t mean there can’t be a bit of fun learning along the way!

Leave a Reply

