Living abroad: Blessing? Curse? Or both?

Well the week is over and no problems have been solved. They’re all on the way to getting solved but still, I want them done with. I miss being able to instantly solve problems, knowing what to do and who to contact. Things seem to move at a much slower pace here and I’m used to being results oriented and accomplishing things at a rapid pace.

In my need-to-hear-English phase, I borrowed some films from the school and watched one this evening. The escapist power of films is incredible…I almost forgot I was in Russia I got so absorbed in it. Then, seeing New York City in the film made me realize all the things I miss not only about America but about New York too. So I feel torn between two countries and the thought of not living in New York at some point seems impossible but at the same time I don’t know if I’ll be able to leave Russia.

I began to play scenarios out in my head of how my life would be different if I moved back to America. But there are certain things I long for in America and others in Russia. It’s true that living in two countries is both a blessing and a curse.

Leave a Reply

