New Time Zone=New Time Change

Unbeknownst to me yesterday was Daylight Saving Time (Summer Time) and I was supposed to set my clock back an hour. So I woke up all ready to go to Moscow and called Alisa to meet me. She informed me that it 8.00 in the morning, not 9.00. So I spent the morning studying Russian and then, later, we met up and went to Moscow. It’s strange that DST comes so early here (American DST will be on 2 November), a difference I never really thought of. Although it doesn’t greatly affect me, it’s definitely a factor worth knowing about when you move to another country for an extended period of time.

In Moscow we went to the American Culture Center and I got registered and then found a bunch of books I wanted to take out. Unfortunately there is a 3 book limit. But I took out The Art of Crossing Cultures by Craig Storti. I’d studied his work a bit while doing research at university but haven’t read this book. I can’t wait to start reading it!

Leave a Reply

