Holiday Plans: Paris

Yesterday I went into Moscow to meet up with my friend Maria. I’d told her I was planning to go to St. Petersburg during the winter holidays. She mentioned that she might also go and we decided to travel there together. While at her flat on Saturday I brought my computer to look for train tickets. But we got to talking and decided to travel somewhere before going to St. Petersburg. The thought of spending Christmas in Paris had been nagging at me recently and I suggested going. So on a bit of a whim, we booked tickets to Paris for a week. So I’m officially going to Paris for Christmas!! It’s been a dream of mine to go ever since I studied French in high school. I can’t wait to go and not only see all the incredible sights but to analyze the culture and experience all the differences.

Then today I met up with my conversation exchange friend, Nastya, and one of her friends. We went to Arbat and walked around, had drinks at Hard Rock Café and then went to another Irish Pub. After that we walked to Red Square and took in the magic of the New Years Tree and the ice rink. I was very impressed with the high level of English that both of them had. They know a lot of slang and colloquial expressions. Turns out they spend a lot of time talking with native speakers and learning to speak better. I continue to be amazed at the level of English among people who have never been to an English-speaking country. But all in all it was a great day and I have the feeling this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship with two very intelligent, interesting and funny girls.

Leave a Reply

