Invitation to a Dacha

Today one of my friends and colleagues invited me to her dacha at the weekend.  We’re going with a bunch of other colleagues and friends for a weekend away.  I couldn’t be more excited as I’ve yet to visit a real Russian dacha.  It should be an incredible experience.  The only thing I’m not looking forward to is the possible traffic jams.  From what I’ve heard, if there is little traffic it will be an hour and a half drive.  But, if there are traffic jams, which are very likely, it could be upwards of four hours in the car.  If it weren’t for the unique experience and the wonderful companions, I’d be tempted to say it’s not worth it.

However it has to be said that Russians have a different attitude toward spending time in the car and driving long distances.  I think a two-to-four hour drive can be tedious.  But many Russians I spoke to have told me about driving for four, six or even eight or more hours to their holiday destinations.  Of course Russia is much bigger than America so perhaps their idea of space and time is a big bigger as well.  They can drive distances that don’t reach halfway across their massive country while an American would be on the opposite coast.  But despite the potential of traffic, I’m really looking forward to the weekend.

Leave a Reply

