Alltop and LingQ

Today I stumbled across two gems on the internet.  The first is Alltop, a website that lets you search other blogs on the internet by topic.  Although they don’t have many subjects related specifically to my interests (and I’ve since added my blog in an attempt to start the category “intercultural communication”), I did find the subject of linguistics.  This led me to an amazing site called The Linguist which is written by Steve Kaufmann.  Yes, you read right, the Steve Kaufmann, author of The Way of the Linguist: A Language Learning Odyssey.  After reading a bit and watching a few videos, I found his website, LingQ, which is an interactive language learning community.  Needless to say I will never look at learning a language online the same again.  I’ve only been using it a day or so but I’ve already learned so much and everything is so organized.  I can actually see my progress as well which is very motivating.  Not to mention he offers a LOT of great advice on learning languages.  So I recommend everyone to go to this site and sign up (it’s free!) for your own good, it will make your life a lot easier and you’ll learn so much!

A few of the other incredible blogs I came across on Alltop are listed below:

Language Log
Language Geek
Brave New Words
Separated by a Common Language

Leave a Reply

